67 crews entered in the WRC section of the 57th RallyRACC


Barcelona, 27 September 2022 - 67 crews are on the entry list for the WRC section of the 57th RallyRACC Catalunya-COSTA DAURADA, Rally of Spain 2022, 12th and penultimate round of the FIA World Rally Championship. To this remarkable entry we will have to add, in a few days, the crews that are registered to participate in the FIA European Championship and those who do so in the four single-make cups that are also included in the RallyRACC: Peugeot, Toyota, Suzuki and Volant RACC/Trofeo Mavisa.

This circumstance is due to the fact that each one of these championships has a different entry closing date, which in the case of the European Championship will be this week, and at the beginning of next week for the four single-brand championships of Iberian, Spanish or Catalan scope. All of this makes foresee a final official list that will pass by far the 100 crews, and that will be the best entry of the RallyRACC in recent times.

With the WRC section already closed, the World Rally Championship is showing a great sporting health at the RallyRACC, with 12 official Rally1 cars and 33 Rally2 units participating in WRC2. Both championships are the two main championships of the WRC, in addition to WRC3 (4 crews), RGT (4 crews) and other Rally2, Rally3, Rally4 and Rally5 vehicles which complete the entry.

The participation of 23 Spanish drivers or co-drivers, is very remarkable, as it shows the national interest in top level rallies. In a few days they will be joined by the many crews that follow the European and the other championships.

The three official WRC teams using the new hybrid cars will be present with their best drivers, led by the four Toyota GR Yaris Rally1 Hybrids of the Toyota Gazoo team driven by current WRC leader Kalle Rovanperä from Finland, the reigning World Champion Sébastien Ogier from France, Briton Elfyn Evans and Japan's Takamoto Katsuta.

Hyundai Shell Mobis will field three cars driven by Estonian former World Champion Ott Tänak, Belgian Thierry Neuville and Spanish RACC driver Dani Sordo. M-Sport Ford, meanwhile, will field a large team of five driven by Ireland's Craig Breen, Britain's Gus Greensmith, France's Pierre-Louis Loubet and Adrien Fourmaux and Greece's Jourdan Serderidis.

In the large group of 33 WRC2 crews, the main pursuers of the absent leader (Andreas Mikkelsen) are, in order of classification, Finland's Emil Lindholm (Škoda), France's Yohan Rossel (Citroën), Poland's Kajetan Kajetanowicz (Škoda) and Russia's Nikolay Gryazin (Škoda), among others.

The presence of 5 Spanish crews in this World Championship section is especially remarkable: the Hyundai i20 N Rally2 of Pepe López and Nil Solans, the Citroën C3 Rally2 of Jan Solans and Alejandro Cachón and the Škoda Fabia Rally2 Evo of Eduard Pons.

In WRC3, the current leader (Sami Pajari) will not be there either, but his main rivals will be: Lauri Joona, Jan Černý and Zoltán László, all three in Ford Fiesta Rally3 cars.

The 57th RallyRACC Catalunya-COSTA DAURADA, Rally of Spain 2022, will be held between 20 and 23 October with start and finish in Salou and a sporting and organisational base in the PortAventura World theme park.