Rallye Catalunya: 50 editions summarized in a photo


After the award ceremony, a moving photo was taken with the winners of this 50th edition and their car, together with the drivers that won the first edition, which was held from June 28 to 30, 1057: The current RACC President, Sebastià Salvadó, and "Milano" (Guillermo Bas), both with the Alfa Romeo 1900 S they used to win the 1st Catalunya Rally.

Main milestones of the Rally Catalunya

1916 - The RACC creates the Volta a Catalunya, germ of the current race, that was staged until 1920 with a brief lapse in 1918

1954 - Recovery of the Volta a Catalunya after the war period

1957 - The 1st Rally Catalunya-Volta a Catalunya is born and was staged until 1964

1973 - The Rally Catalunya comes back to stay (9th edition), with the Rallye de las Cavas

1980 - The 16th Rally Catalunya becomes part of the European Championship

1986 - The first special stage of the 22nd edition is raced on the Montjuïc circuit

1988 - The 24th Rally Catalunya merges with the Rally Costa Brava, with headquarters in Lloret

1991 - The 27th Rally Catalunya-Costa Brava of the European Championship joins the World Championship

2005 - The 41st RallyRACC Catalunya-Costa Daurada is born, with headquarters in Salou and PortAventura

2010 - One rally day with gravel and mixed stages is added to the two days on tarmac

2012 - Barcelona is the venue of the start of the 48 RallyRACC and an urban stage is raced in Salou

2014 - An urban special stage is raced in Barcelona, the opening stage of the rally