Day 2: Sébastien Ogier (VW) takes over the 50 RallyRACC


The second day of the 50 RallyRACC-Catalunya COSTA DAURADA, Rally de España 2014, finished with Sébastien Ogier-Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo R WRC) in the lead, on their way to renewing the World Championship title. They could actually leave Salou with the championship in their pockets if they held that position. Todays programme consisted of four gravel stages and two mixed-surface stages which have become the hallmark of this event since 2010 and add to the difficulties drivers face.

In the first loop of the day, three different men were crowned in each stage: Kris Meeke (Citroën) took Gandesa, Hayden Paddon (Hyundai) took Pesells, and Sébastien Ogier (VW) conquered Terra Alta. The French driver repeated his victory on the second Gandesa and Terra Alta runs, while Thierry Neuville (Hyundai) pocketed Pesells stage. Neuville, though, lost his options in the final Terra Alta stage as he had a flat tyre and lost almost 2 and a half minutes.

It was not a lucky day for Dani Sordo-Marc Martí (Hyundai), now far removed from the frontrunners and currently sitting 7th overall. The next Spanish team in the general classification is Xevi Pons-Alex Haro (Ford), 16th, right behind the first two WRC2 cars, in a series which is under the grip of Nasser Al-Attiyah (Ford).

We are currently half-way into the 50 RallyRACC-Catalunya COSTA DAURADA, Rally de España 2014, with two asphalt days remaining. The gap at the top of the timesheets is tiny, so a fierce battle is expected for Saturday. The 50 km Escaladei stage will mark the 50th anniversary of the Spanish rally and will surely be a major challenge for all drivers.

The second street stage of this rally will also be raced tomorrow, in the beautiful setting of Salous waterfront. Spectators will have the opportunity of lining along the beach for a direct view of most of the layout. Altogether, 159.16 km of timed sections over 6 stages, plus 257.67 kilometres in liaison sections, with start and finish at PortAventura.

Provisional overall classification after Day 2

1-Sébastien Ogier-Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo R WRC), 1h.29040

2-Jari-Matti Latvala-Miikka Anttila (Volkswagen Polo R WRC), +366

3-Mads Ostberg-Jonas Andersson (Citroën DS3 WRC), +372

4-Andreas Mikkelsen-Ola Floene (Volkswagen Polo R WRC), +373

5-Mikko Hirvonen-Jarmo Lehtinen (Ford Fiesta RS WRC), +414

6-Robert Kubica-Maciej Szczepaniak (Ford Fiesta RS WRC), +570

7-Dani Sordo-Marc Martí (Hyundai i20 WRC), +1249

8-Martin Prokop-Jan Tomanek (Ford Fiesta RS WRC), +2182

9-Thierry Neuville-Nicolas Gilsoul (Hyundai i20 WRC), +2295

10-Nasser Al Attiyah-Giovanni Bernacchini (Ford Fiesta RRC), +4504